ELEANNA MARTINOY • Nebula II, 60cm 120cm, ink on paper, 2018

Humanity has been a witness to cosmological phenomena ever since its’ appearance on earth. Natural Phenomena Φysics– mostly beyond human’s control, and not-explainable Metaphysical Phenomena –Meta- Φysics compose an endless route and reflect the wisdom of the universe.

The concert series Meta- Φysics consists of programs performed each time by different members of the λ-ensemble. It includes works inspired by such phenomena as sunrays, rainfall, snow-crystals falling, forest sounds, mammalian voices, ghost stories, souls of dead calling, demon steps, magic and spells, dreams, …  It is about a crossing through our cosmos translated into sounds, focusing on music of the 20th and 21st century.

Meta- Φysics I
flute, strings, piano, accordion, electronics

A program including works by
Anestis Logothetis, George Crumb,
Arvo Pärt, Kirill Volkov,
Periklis Liakakis, Xingzimin Pan

Meta- Φysics II
λ-ensemble in Trio
flute, cello, piano

A program including works by
Leoš Janáček, George Crumb, Toru Takemitsu, Sofia Gubaidulina, Andrea Tarrodi, Minas Borboudakis, Xingzimin Pan


Anestis Logothetis (1921-1994)-a composer of Greek origin who lived in Vienna-is one of the leading pioneers of 20th century composition mainly known for his influence in the graphic notation system.

lamda ensemble pays tribute to Logothetis by presenting his works of absolute music with new interpretations of his graphic notation scores; by performing works by Logothetis’ contemporaries, as well as Greek expat composers; by using acoustic instruments, electronics and visual material and applying improvisation with modern instrumental techniques.

lamda ensemble © 2020 | all rights reserved